Posted by: Talie Morrison | July 8, 2009

Back in Beautiful Crested Butte


Ok so now I understand why no one continues their blogs once they get home!   It is actually easier for me to blog while I am on the road – too much stuff gets in the way once I’m home…..   But, that being said – here we go….

I had an awesome month in California visiting Craig and Steve and their families!   I am so lucky to have such an awesome family!   Thanks guys!

Chanda, Steve, McKenzie and Gates

Chanda, Steve, McKenzie and Gates

Deb, Dakota and Craig

Deb, Dakota and Craig

And, of course, how great to spend a month in Southern California!

I got back to Crested Butte on June 15th – just in time for the spring rains to settle down.   In the first 24 hours: I had 2 welcome home parties, went on a hike, played a softball game … and I was still trying to get my altitude legs under me!   I guess you could say “I hit the ground running!”  But that is the  “Crested Butte Way”!

Love the Lupine!

Love the Lupine!

Pretty nice backyard!

Pretty nice backyard!

Now that we are into Summer in Crested Butte, it is the most beautiful place in the world!   Thanks to the spring rains, everything is SO green – and all the wildflowers are happy!   This week (July 6th) is the Crested Butte Wildflower Festival – and everything is cooperating!   I’m only doing a couple of identification hikes – so it’s not my usual 7 day marathon of wildflower hikes!   But on the other hand, I’m getting out plenty and enjoying the trails, flowers, and snow capped peaks.

Yea, Wild Columbine!

Yea, Wild Columbine!

I’m getting out as much as possible to be in shape for my next adventure:   I head to Alaska on the 14th to hike the Chilkoot Trail out of Skagway.   I have wanted to hike this trail since I read about the trials and tribulations of the miners during the Alaska Gold Rush.   So I am excited to have this chance to get back to Alaska again to hike the Chilkoot!

So life in Crested Butte is good – the days are beautiful -tonight is a full moon – the 4th of July celebrations were very fun – and I even got a chance to pull a cross cut saw once again!   🙂   Life is GOOD!

And the Glacier Lilies!

And the Glacier Lilies!

I’ve already taken so many photos it’s rediculous – but then I have such great subject materials around here!

Back to training with Crested Butte Search and Rescue

Back to training with Crested Butte Search and Rescue

And then ...  you gotta get up into the high country!   Awesome!

And then ... you gotta get up into the high country! Awesome!

Crested Butte is an awesome place to live and hang out – why do I keep leaving it to travel other places?  I guess so I can appreciate “coming home”!   Happy Trails, everybody!

Responses

  1. welcome home talie!
    i cannot wait to meet up with you and melanie in august. have a fabulous trip to alaska!

    🙂 melissa


Leave a Reply

Categories

