Posted by: Talie Morrison | October 6, 2014

SUMMER/AUTUMN 2014

I haven’t “blogged” since June, and now I am starting to have friends email me and ask me what I have been doing this summer – So here is an update:

 

I was in Crested Butte for the beautiful month of June. I had two housesitting jobs lined up so I wasn’t camping out in my truck – instead I was taking care of Zorka (a 9 month old German Shepard) and Siggy (a 9 year old Entlebucher Mountain Dog [look that one up!]).   I have the best of both worlds – I get to have great dogs to go hiking with, lovely homes to stay in, and still the freedom to travel when I want!   Life is a bit crazy but definitely GOOD!

That's Crested Butte Mountain, Peanut Lake, and the Town of Crested Butte

That’s Crested Butte Mountain, Peanut Lake, and the Town of Crested Butte

One of my favorites: Alpine Forget-me-nots

One of my favorites: Alpine Forget-me-nots

Yes, Joni, is standing up - the flowers are that tall!

Yes, Joni, is standing up – the flowers are that tall!

With my friends Ruth and Sue - hiking on Crested Butte Mountain Resort

With my friends Ruth and Sue – hiking on Crested Butte Mountain Resort

I love getting reflection photos!

I love getting reflection photos!

With Zorka and my friend Dianne.  Diane and I spent the summers backpacking with Forward Steps 21 years ago!

With Zorka and my friend Dianne. Diane and I spent the summers backpacking with Forward Steps 21 years ago!

Can you believe that Siggy liked swimming in that icy water!

Can you believe that Siggy liked swimming in that icy water!

With Siggy at the ski area

With Siggy at the ski area

That's our little town!

That’s our little town!

Joni and I are dressed up to participate in "Bridges of the Butte" - a 24 hour bike ride (I used my kick-bike) to raise money for Adaptive Sports

Joni and I are dressed up to participate in “Bridges of the Butte” – a 24 hour bike ride (I used my kick-bike) to raise money for Adaptive Sports

4th of July - ⅓ marathon with Roberta, Jane and Robin!

4th of July – ⅓ marathon with Roberta, Jane and Robin!

 

For most of the month of July, I took my 14 year old grandson, Gates, to France and Germany.   It was his first time out of the United States and it was an “eye opener” for him!   He kept saying how different it was.   We flew into Paris, did the Paris sights along with Disneyland Paris, then went to Normandy Beach.   I had bought Eurail Passes, so from there we went to Munich, Berlin, Rothenburg ob der Tauber, Hamburg, Heidleburg, and Frankfurt (where we flew home from).   It was a busy 3 weeks, but we saw lots of fun and interesting places and visited with some of my English and German friends.   (Thank you everyone for your great hospitality!)

Disneyland Paris - Like being in the US but all the signs and names are in French!

Disneyland Paris – Like being in the US but all the signs and names are in French!

At Pegasus Bridge with Beth and Siobhan

At Pegasus Bridge with Beth and Siobhan

The beaches of Normandy, France

The beaches of Normandy, France

World Peace Statue - Grandcamp-Maisy -

World Peace Statue – Grandcamp-Maisy –

Dachau - Concentration Camp, outside Munich, Germany

Dachau – Concentration Camp, outside Munich, Germany

At Nymphenburg Palace in Munich

At Nymphenburg Palace in Munich

With Daniel and Toby Bartchinski and their families

With Daniel and Toby Bartchinski and their families

Check Point Charlie in Berlin

Check Point Charlie in Berlin

The Berlin Wall

The Berlin Wall

With Susie, Basti and Paula at their new home outside Fürth, Germany

With Susie, Basti and Paula at their new home outside Fürth, Germany

Yea for the German Trains

Yea for the German Trains

With Henriette in Hamburg

With Henriette in Hamburg

 

Back to Crested Butte for August, September and October: The flowers were “over the top” beautiful well into August.   Living in Crested Butte is one of the best things I could ever do! The natural beauty of this place (even after 33 years) still takes my breath away! Housesitting for 4 more dogs and 3 cats has kept me in homes for all three months (amazing!).   My “kiwi” friend, Dianne, came and spent 3 weeks with me in September – we had lots of fun with the “Whatever USA” celebration in Crested Butte, and then spent a couple of days camping in Utah.

 

Old Man of the Mountain still blooming in August

Old Man of the Mountain still blooming in August

In North Pole Basin (just outside Crested Butte)- wildflowers were amazing!

In North Pole Basin (just outside Crested Butte)- wildflowers were amazing!

With Joni in North Pole Basin

With Joni in North Pole Basin

Yea - wild Columbine!

Yea – wild Columbine!

Up towards Daisy Pass - so many beautiful places around Crested Butte!

Up towards Daisy Pass – so many beautiful places around Crested Butte!

This is a Colorado Ermine - it will change its colors to white during the winter

This is a Colorado Ermine – it will change its colors to white during the winter

This little Pika makes "hay" to sustain it during the long winter.   They are sure cute!

This little Pika makes “hay” to sustain it during the long winter. They are sure cute!

Of course, Tengu likes hiking in the mountains too!

Of course, Tengu likes hiking in the mountains too!

Some pretty nice sunsets!

Some pretty nice sunsets!

The USA Pro Challenge Bike Race came through CB on a rainy day in August.

The USA Pro Challenge Bike Race came through CB on a rainy day in August.

Dianne gets up into the double black diamond ski runs!

Dianne gets up into the double black diamond ski runs!

With Suellen on top of Mt. Crested Butte

With Suellen on top of Mt. Crested Butte

Around Lake Irwin with Zeke!

Around Lake Irwin with Zeke!

Huck gave me a kiss just as the photo was taken!

Huck gave me a kiss just as the photo was taken!

On top of Hasley Pass with Joni and Dianne

On top of Hasley Pass with Joni and Dianne

What a weekend!

What a weekend!

They actually painted the light posts, bike racks, and street BLUE

They actually painted the light posts, bike racks, and street BLUE

Whatever!

Whatever!

At Crystal Geyser near Green River Utah

At Crystal Geyser near Green River Utah

Little Wild Horse Canyon, Utah

Little Wild Horse Canyon, Utah

An awesome spot for a Raven to hang out!

An awesome spot for a Raven to hang out!

Delicate Arch in Arches National Park, Utah

Delicate Arch in Arches National Park, Utah

The Aspens have really been showing their colors this fall!

The Aspens have really been showing their colors this fall!

I love the yellow to orange colors!

I love the yellow to orange colors!

Joni in the Aspens

Joni in the Aspens

Whetstone is still my favorite mountain!

Whetstone is still my favorite mountain!

With Dianne and Joni - we are ready for "trouble"!

With Dianne and Joni – we are ready for “trouble”!

 

So now as the last of the leaves fall from the trees and the snows begin to fly, I am planning my next trips!   I’ll be heading back down to New Zealand the middle of November till early April, and I am also planning a trip to Nepal in April/May.

 

Early snows on Whetstone while the leaves are still on the trees!

Early snows on Whetstone while the leaves are still on the trees!

IMG_3327

Leaves and Snow – so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Categories

