Posted by: Talie Morrison | November 26, 2014

Back in Kiwi-Land again!

 

Yes, I am back in New Zealand again!

I think I must have been a kiwi bird in my last lifetime!  Because I sure feel “at home” when I land in New Zealand!

But to back up a little: I left Crested Butte in late October with a trip to Denver to volunteer for a Landmark Education Seminar. Then I took a quick trip up to Boulder to see friends and back down to Denver to see another Chihuly Glass Exhibit.   Please if you ever are near or hear of a Chihuly Glass exhibit – GO, GO, GO.   It is one of the most incredible visual experiences you will ever have!   I went to see an exhibit in Scottsdale (at the desert botanical gardens) last May – so when I heard it was in Denver (at the Denver botanical gardens) – I had to work that into my schedule – and I was not disappointed!

So beautiful - You just have to see these glass sculptures in person!

So beautiful – You just have to see these glass sculptures in person!

That's about 30 feet high!

That’s about 30 feet high!

Close up of the incredible blown glass that makes up the "orange tree"

Close up of the incredible blown glass that makes up the “orange tree”

I still had an extra few days before I was due to be in California, so I stopped for a quick backpacking trip out on the desert rocks near Boulder Utah. Have you ever heard people say, “The silence was deafening”? Well out there, on the rocks in Utah, you can really experience what they are talking about!!!

Don't know how they do it!

Don’t know how they do it!

Blooming for the sheer joy of being alive!

Blooming for the sheer joy of being alive!

I didn't see a single other person for 3 days!

I didn’t see a single other person for 3 days!

Tengu's last backpacking trip...

Tengu’s last backpacking trip…

Water tanks like this make camping on the rocks "doable"

Water tanks like this make camping on the rocks “doable”

The only two trees for miles around - perfect for my hammock!  My water bottle on the ground was frozen the next morning!

The only two trees for miles around – perfect for my hammock! My water bottle on the ground was frozen the next morning!

In California, I went to San Diego first – to stay with Gates (and doggies) while Steve and Chanda took a few days to go to Vegas to celebrate their 15th wedding anniversary.   Then I headed up to Santa Barbara to see Craig and family. I tidied up GrayJay and tucked her into her parking spot at Craig’s house.   Then it was the shuttle to LAX, and next thing I knew Figi Airlines delivered me to Auckland. Both flights (LAX to Figi, and Figi to Auckland) were two the smoothest long distance flights I have ever had!   Nice!

With Steve and Gates - I am definitely the shortest one in the family now!

With Steve and Gates – I am definitely the shortest one in the family now!

With Dakota and Craig (and Pancho and Buddha)

With Dakota and Craig (and Pancho and Buddha)

On the beach in California

On the beach in California

Big Plane!

Big Plane!

Dianne was the perfect Kiwi hostess. We went for a couple of “good” day walks (Webb Creek Trail and Hunua Falls and Cossey Dam Trails) and then a two day tramping trip up to the Pinnacles Hut on the Coromandel Peninsula    The bush and trees are SO green! I am, once again, trying to get my body to realize that it is late November and it is Springtime here in New Zealand.

On the track again!

On the track again!

Yea, Swingbridges!

Yea, Swingbridges!

Pinnacles

Pinnacles

This looks a lot like the Dolomites!   Up to the top of the Pinnacles...

This looks a lot like the Dolomites! Up to the top of the Pinnacles…

Beautiful Green New Zealand

Beautiful Green New Zealand

So now I am in Christchurch where Myles and Margaret done a lovely job of taking care of my NZ van for me.   After shooing out the mice and getting her tidied up, we are almost ready to be on the road again.   So stay tuned for more New Zealand adventures!

With Dianne at Cossey Dam (near Auckland)

With Dianne at Cossey Dam (near Auckland)

 

Responses

  1. Too cool Talie M, your beloved New Zealand and friends awaits… we are back in NZ on 29th Jan! and looking forward to seeing you somewhere. Tengu 2 looks ready and fresh for his adventures!


Leave a Reply

Categories

